/////Wide gamut display and process flow
Wide gamut display and process flow2013-03-17T09:13:57+02:00

Explore Forums Discussions Digital Darkroom Computing Hardware Wide gamut display and process flow

Wide gamut display and process flow

• Author
    Participant

Hi there,

My workflow has evolved to the point where I am considering the use of a 27″ or 30″ display, and I consider myself a serious amateur. I am currently making use of a non-thunderbolt 17″ MacBook Pro and run OSX, but have plans to replace this with a 15″ Retina at a later point.

My workflow involves LightRoom 4 and Nik s/w on Mountain Lion, and I would like to properly cater for large canvas size prints of landscapes, wildlife and some portraits. Ultimately, I suppose I will only print 10-25% of my photo’s so sRGB remains an important capability.

Anyhow, I must first state that I am out of my depth when it comes to making a truly informed decision on a wide gamut display, since I have no practical experience in soft proofing or printing. After a lot of research I planned to either get the U2713H or especially the new U3014 Dell UltraSharp, but I am aware that there are some complications to a wide gamut display.

The main issue is that I frequently read about issues with wide gamut support in operating systems (for example, Apple ColorSync is 8-bit only), and I admittedly do not have enough knowledge to know if I will gain the true benefit should I plan to use a 15″ retina MacBook Pro with the Dell, also in terms of compatibility. So while I am hoping to exploit the wide gamuts through LR4, I fear that I might encounter other issues that end up not justifying the effort to manage yet another aspect of photography, and then also end up having to buy a colorimeter.

For the sake of brevity I will only mention one particular comment that caught my eye: http://www.naturescapes.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=161496