What Monitor for Photography2011-07-30T05:30:11+02:00

Explore Forums Discussions Digital Darkroom Computing Hardware What Monitor for Photography

What Monitor for Photography

• Author
    Participant

Looks like my computer will need replacement soon. I might as well do the Monitor as well. My Monitor is a flat screen 19″ CRT Phillips (HUGE footprint!!!) but is 7 yrs old etc and CRT was far better than LCD in those days

I am willing to spend about R5000 on a 21-23 ” flat screen. I will use it for day to day work and proposals but I want the BEST for my SERIOUS hobby photography…must be visually top of the range…any advice I have no knowledge….ie what are Dell like? HP hada great screen 2-3 years ago (Probably obsolete) What is this Dell U2311H like ….Is it better than the U2410? They seem to go @ R2400 about…Would a Monitor costing twice that be a better option….Mac Pro is out as there is NO Back up in E Cape and it took me 60 years to navigate Windows to about 5% capacity so MAC stuff is out

Advice please

Cheers

Pete

• Johan Grobbelaar
    Participant

Do google search on ODP as this subject was covered fairly well the last few months …
    I use a Dell U2410 which uses an IPS panel and it is a great monitor. Whatever you get, make sure it uses an IPS panel (superior). If I remember correctly Samsumg now also markets an IPS monitor.

• Stanberg
    Participant

Peter, I have a Dell U2311H which is an IPS screen. You are welcome to come and have a look

• cagenuts
    Participant

So I guess the IPS panel is one that displays the sRGB colour space properly?

• Andrew Roos
    Participant

IPS stands for “In-Plane Switching”. It means that the crystals in the LCD (liquid crystal display) move parallel to the plane of the screen, rather than perpendicular to it as in TN panels. The main advantage of this is there is very little colour and brightness shift as you change viewing angle. This allows more accurate colour calibration.