/////The budget wildlife lens saga…
The budget wildlife lens saga…2018-10-19T15:02:03+02:00

Explore Forums Discussions Camera Equipment SLR/DSLR Lenses The budget wildlife lens saga…

The budget wildlife lens saga…

• Author
    Participant

I know that this topic has been discussed fairly extensively but I haven’t seen a post dealing with all the lens contenders under one roof so to speak.

I’m fairly new to this game we call photography and as such I’m still finding my feet. I have read up and researched this field extensively but still rate myself as a beginner.

I have a love for the bush and in particular bird watching and as such I would love to photograph my feathered friends as frequently as possible. As everyone knows this is where the conundrum starts to truly take hold.

First off I’m a Canon shooter owning a 1300D with a kit lens as well as a 50mm f1.8. I have a budget of approximately R20000-00 from which I need to purchase a wildlife/birding lens. Now there are a crazy amount of options from which one could choose.

I’m open to purchasing new or used but it should remain clear that my budget will not extend above R20000-00 and as such there is no need to discuss the merits of lenses such as the Canon 200-400f4, 300 F2.8, 400 DO, 400 F2.8, 500 F4, 600 F4, Sigma 120-300 f2.8 etc. I know the above lenses are absolutely amazing but as a beginner I could never justify such a purchase.

My main question is one focused on IQ and the merits of the new 150-600 zoom lenses vs brand lenses.

To me it seems that the third party lenses aren’t quite as great as the original lenses due to back engineering etc but folk are taking amazing images with third party lenses and these lenses are improving constantly.

In terms of Canon lenses there are a number of options namely: