Help with ND Grad Filters2009-03-19T20:36:57+02:00

Explore Forums Discussions Photo Topics Beginners Forum Help with ND Grad Filters

Help with ND Grad Filters

• Author
    Participant

Hi Everyone

I bought my first Digital SLR Camera during June 2008 and whilst browsing the net at that stage looking for camera deals I came across this Web site and registered immediately. Since then I have read and absorbed a lot from everyone from posts, pictures etc. I am very much hooked and although I do not have all the time in the world I uses every opportunity to go out and take some pics.

I need some advice on buying ND Grad Filters.I have never used ND Grad filters before but understands their purpose.I have been reading about them and as I understand the reason my sky’s are always washed out is that i am not using these filters.I need to get some advice from those who use it regularly as to what brand(from what i have read seems like lee filters is the way to go but will appreciate views on other brands)and what different strenghts. Whether to first get a soft or hard Grad filter.Will be mostly for landscape so something versatile to cover most situations.The only filter I currently have is a Kenko Pro1 Circ Pol Filter (77mm)

Will be visiting Cape St Francis beginning of April so would like to experiment accordingly.

Thanks
    Andre

• Liesel
    Participant

Andre, you do not state whether money’s a factor or not. If it’s not, Lee would be your product. If you’re like me and always scraping the bottom, Cokin’s will do perfectly. A few photographers have complained about a color shift in them, but I have honestly only had good experiences with them. I use my 3 stop soft Grad almost 80% of the time, so it will be my first choice if I had to choose one.

• Gavin Hayhurst
    Participant