HDR Photos2017-07-18T08:20:09+02:00

HDR Photos

• Author
    Participant

I would like to explore HDR photos more , mainly landscapes.
    I am using the old battleship Canon 1 D MkIV and would like your opinion which aperture increments to use for the three exposures (1/3 — 1/2 — or even 1 aperture steps).
    I am planning to edit later in CS6. I am not a professional but a serious hobbyist.
    Thanks a ton……

• Jeffreysa
    Participant

Do not change the aperture as this will effect how each image looks. Change shutter speed. I would use at least 1+ stop between exposures.
    Expose for the dark area, normal and expose for the light area. This will determine the increments.

• elsahoffmann

Bracket?

• Gerd
    Participant

Thanks but I do not need to change apertures.
    The D1 Mk VI allows me to set it for HDR, then allows me to set the number of exposures to be taken and then allows me to set the (aperture) increments for each exposure, i.e 1/3 , 1/2 ,1 , or 2….etc etc).
    When I shoot then with 5 or 10 frames per second, I do not need to manually measure and adjust different exposures (e.g. highlights,lowlights, middle, etc) for each exposure.
    Is there a rule of thumb for highlights/shadows brackets, e.g. 2 or 3 or 4 f-stops between high and low for sun light or shade ???

• Gerd
    Participant

Oh what an idiot I am, I could not see the forest for the trees……………………
    Of course I can measure a highlight area and the a dark area of the photo to be taken and then actually see min and max. aperture and then adjust the HDR program accordingly !!!
    The program allows me to determine only different aperture increments per shot, which is mostly ok for landscapes but if one does HDR absolutely manually then the better bet would be shutter speed adjustments…..
    Sorry to have stolen your time……

• Gerd
    Participant

@elsahoffmann 297414 wrote:

Bracket?